
MCC Clears the Air on Joe Root’s Dismissal Amid No-Ball Debate
So, let’s talk about what’s been the buzzing topic in cricket circles recently — Joe Root’s controversial dismissal during the second Test between India and England at Edgbaston. If you’ve been following the series, you already know how intense things have gotten. But it wasn’t just the on-field action that caught everyone's attention — it was the dramatic debate over whether Akash Deep’s delivery that bowled Root was actually legal.
Now, let’s break it down. During England’s second innings, Joe Root, one of their most dependable batters, was clean bowled by Akash Deep. Simple as that, right? Not quite. Almost instantly, fans, pundits, and especially sections of the English media started raising questions. The issue? They believed Akash Deep had overstepped — not with his front foot, but his back foot — suggesting the ball should’ve been declared a no-ball.
Photos and slow-motion videos circulated rapidly, showing that part of Deep’s back foot had touched outside the return crease. This sparked widespread criticism and even had commentators chiming in, questioning why the third umpire didn’t flag it. But amid all the noise, the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) — the authority on the Laws of Cricket — finally stepped in with clarity.
Also Read:- Amanda Anisimova’s Inspiring Wimbledon Semifinal Comeback
- Hannah Klugman’s Wimbledon Grit Signals a Bright Future for British Tennis
According to the MCC, the delivery was absolutely legal. Their statement explained that what matters is the first point of contact of the bowler’s back foot during delivery. As long as any part of that first contact lands inside the return crease, it’s valid. In Akash Deep’s case, although his heel eventually ended up outside the crease, his toes — the initial contact point — were safely inside. That, by rule, makes the delivery fair.
Former Indian cricketer Irfan Pathan also jumped into the conversation and broke it down beautifully with video evidence. He highlighted that social media had circulated misleading freeze-frames, skipping the crucial earlier frames where the legal contact happened. Pathan made it clear — this was a legitimate wicket, taken with both skill and by the book.
Let’s not forget the bigger picture here. That wicket of Root wasn’t just a random breakthrough. It was a crucial blow. England were reeling at 50/3 after Root’s exit, and India rode that momentum to eventually secure a massive 336-run victory — their first at Edgbaston in 58 years, levelling the five-Test series 1-1.
And let’s give credit where it’s due — Akash Deep, an emerging pacer from Bihar, was phenomenal. In just his second Test, he grabbed 10 wickets in the match, including a six-wicket haul in the second innings. All this while filling in for the unavailable Jasprit Bumrah. That’s no small feat.
So, controversy or not, MCC has spoken, Pathan has explained, and the rules are crystal clear — Akash Deep bowled legally, and Joe Root’s dismissal stands fair and square.
Read More:
0 Comments